Thursday, April 3, 2014

Change to ICD-10 Codes Announced

OWCP will adopt the use of the International Classification of Diseases, 10th Edition diagnosis and procedure codes (ICD-10) beginning October 01, 2014 replacing the ICD-9 codes used to report medical diagnosis and inpatient procedures.

On or after October 01, 2014, OWCP will require all providers to only use the ICD-10 codes for services provided.

For services provided prior to October 01, 2014 only ICD-9 codes will be accepted.

After October 01, 2014 if your providers use ICD-9 codes, claims/bills will be denied. Claims and bills can be resubmitted for payment/acceptance with the proper ICD-10 codes.

A claimant’s providers should be made aware of this change to avoid delays in acceptance of claims and/or payment of bills.

Here is the link to the ICD-10 code website: http://www.icd10data.com/ICD10CM/Codes  

ICD-9 to ICD-10 conversion: http://www.icd10data.com/Convert

No comments:

Post a Comment